Leave a comment

In The Light Of Darkness by Radhika Maira Tabrez – A Review

51YuhzkmPrL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_

I took my time with this, I could not rush through Tabrez’s debut novel, it is so hauntingly beautiful I had to pause, go back a few pages and re-read what I had just read. People say good books have life in them, I say then this book has soul.

I have read Tabrez’s work before, and I am aware of her style. Which plays with the reader’s heart and mind at the same time. She has an unique quality of turning simple, mundane things into pieces of art. If I could frame moments from the book like a painting, then I would frame Susan and Meera’s morning tea-times, it is so exquisite drawn.

The plot structure is not complicated, the narration is near perfect, the setting of the novel is in the imaginary island of Bydore. The characters are well-drawn out and it the characters quickly make a place in the reader’s heart. You cry with them, laugh with them, feel for them and mostly want to know what happens to them. Language and vocabulary is refreshing. Tabrez has used a lot of delicate words which are not used by writers these days.

I generally don’t like to divulge the plot in my reviews, it is for you to read and to find out.

Do not read this if you don’t enjoy an emotional roller-coaster. This book will make you shed tears, but if you can manage to survive through the first pages of this multi-faceted passionate portrayal of human pain you will be rewarded with love and hope.

On the downside, I would like to point it to the publisher towards the portions where the letter to Matthew from Susan features. I can understand the purpose of the cursive and italic font, but the size hurts the eye. I would have wanted to read the letter effortlessly, and a slightly larger font would have helped.

Of late I have not read something so emotionally powerful, and the sharp editing by Indrani Ganguly makes it a magnificent read.

I would definitely recommend this book, with all my heart and soul. This is undoubtedly one of the best books Readomania has produced so far.

DON’T WAIT. GO. BUY. READ and get mesmerised in an enchanting tale of human emotions.

 

To buy the book click here: http://www.amazon.in/Light-Darkness-Radhika-Maira-Tabrez/dp/9385854178

________________________________________________________

Please note: I bought the book online from Amazon and this is not a commissioned review. 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Sweta Paul Vs The World

This world terrifies me. And at times, I break out in emotion, sarcasm and lame humour.

writingthedreamblog

The Fantastic and Mundane Chronicles of an Aspiring Writer

Rob Powell Writes

Let's see where this goes, starting with some short stories and flash fiction.

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

ThinkingAloud

This is the site about life, people, highs, lows and all those blows.

LET ME RE-THINK

Diary of a VAGABOND

Surbhi Sarna

The Pursuit of Writing

My Petridish

Imagination is the fire of life...

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Deidra Alexander's Blog

I have people to kill, lives to ruin, plagues to bring, and worlds to destroy. I am not the Angel of Death. I'm a fiction writer.

The Critiquing Chemist

Literary Analysis derived from an Analytical Chemist

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Preethi Prabhu

Exploring the world of Indian Home Decor

Aarti V Raman

Where Writer Gal talks about books, movies, hot men, TV shows, random poetry and why she cannot absolutely go on hikes longer than three kilometers.

Hard Book Habit

Reading classics and hard books, and spouting rhubarb about them

