3 Comments

Maya’s New Husband – A Review

download (32)I was twelve, when I can’t remember who gifted me a book called World’s Best Horror Stories. The first story was ‘The Monkey’s Paw’ by W.W.Jacobs.

I was terrified, so terrified after reading that story I have never ever read another piece of horror since, nor do I watch any horror movies. And then things changed.

I read so many great reviews of this book that I finally mastered the courage to buy another horror story after 25 years since W.W.Jacobs officially had scared the shit out of me.

It has been a long time since I finished a book in 24 hours. And I am so glad that I finally took the plunge into this world of lurking shadows, betrayal, loss and thousand other shades of fear.

Neil D’Silva’s Maya’s New Husband had me at tenterhooks from the first line. I am not a big fan of horror but this book is something else. It is hard to believe that D’Silva is an Indie author and this book is not backed by a publishing house. D’Silva has taken Self publishing to a completely different level, he proves all you need is an excellent plot-line and great writing skills to produce a good book. Some traditional publisher absolutely must pick this book up and give it a better spotlight. This book deserves to reach more hands.

D’Silva’s writing has a cinematic quality to it, as I read pages after pages I could actually see the story being played out in front of my eyes. The image of Bhaskar Sadachari will remain with me for a long time. There are many plot twists and turns and nail biting moments, but what I liked most is the usage of deep psychology of human mind in the process of storytelling. Excellent use of dialogues to take the story forward. There are so many subtle descriptions tucked into the narration of the story which makes a reader think. It is not simply mindless horror, just a show of blood and gore, this book is much more than that! You must look beyond that, you must look at the beauty of the imagery used, the perfect metaphors, the dark humour, the switch of moods, the brilliant portrayal of characters.

This book is not just a horror or a thriller, it is about you, your inner beast , it is about your deepest fears, it is about how our mind is a powerful entity and how it rules over us more than we realize and finally it is about how we have the ultimate power to overcome all this.

Thanks to D’Silva I am scared of my own shadow now! I will be looking forward to the sequel to this book.

What are you waiting for, GO. BUY. READ. GET SCARED.

Buy the Kindle version here: Maya’s New Husband

Buy the paperback here: Maya’s New Husband

Facebook page: Neil D’Silva

13318624_10206700998579981_583966201_n

3 comments on “Maya’s New Husband – A Review

  1. I loved your review Rhiti. I think Neil’s writing is so emotive, I have read a few short stories and find them very absorbing.

  2. I just ordered the book on Flipkart… Can’t wait to read it. Wonderful review Rhiti 🙂

Leave a Reply

Sweta Paul Vs The World

This world terrifies me. And at times, I break out in emotion, sarcasm and lame humour.

writingthedreamblog

The Fantastic and Mundane Chronicles of an Aspiring Writer

Rob Powell Writes

Let's see where this goes, starting with some short stories and flash fiction.

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

ThinkingAloud

This is the site about life, people, highs, lows and all those blows.

LET ME RE-THINK

Diary of a VAGABOND

Surbhi Sarna

The Pursuit of Writing

My Petridish

Imagination is the fire of life...

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Deidra Alexander's Blog

I have people to kill, lives to ruin, plagues to bring, and worlds to destroy. I am not the Angel of Death. I'm a fiction writer.

The Critiquing Chemist

Literary Analysis derived from an Analytical Chemist

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Preethi Prabhu

An Indian Home Decor Blog

Aarti V Raman

Where Writer Gal talks about books, movies, hot men, TV shows, random poetry and why she cannot absolutely go on hikes longer than three kilometers.

Hard Book Habit

Reading classics and hard books, and spouting rhubarb about them

