2 Comments

KINGDOM COME by AARTI V RAMAN

book cover final only front cover_option 2-01

‘The Author has penned a Harlequin Romance.’ This was my first impression before I started reading the book, when I received an email saying I have won the book in THE BOOK CLUB’S Tornado Giveaway 2.

I was away in Kolkata attending to some personal work in December, and when I came home I found a bunch of parcels (all books, imagine my happiness) waiting for me! Incidentally amongst all the books that had landed on my doorstep this was the first book that I picked up.

The cover showed the backdrop of a mountain, an explosion and two silhouettes walking hand in hand, I was still not convinced, but as I turned the cover page I found this:

12665623_10205905204205619_1471362421_n

 

And that is exactly how Aarti V Raman won me over!

I started the book and I was hooked.

In the Acknowledgements Aarti herself says that her muse for the protagonist’s character was Akshay Kumar, and I couldn’t agree more.  Krivi Iyer is silent, brooding, macho and all things heroic that make you swoon, he is THE Hero. Aarti’s portrayal of her protagonist is near perfect. To match him up you have the beautiful and fiery Ziya Maarten. Their love forms the spine of the book, together they create a romance that makes you yearn for their happiness.

In the body of a very well-crafted thriller, this book is actually about love, relationships and emotions. The side characters have been drawn well, Noor leaves a long lasting effect on your soul. The antagonist of the novel The Woodpecker is drawn horridly to perfection, at points I wanted to kill him myself!

Aarti has delivered a top notch read, her use of language is brilliant. She knows her craft well. Her narrative voice is absolutely magnificent. She effectively uses the setting in her storyline, I can’t divulge the plot for it would take away the suspense factor of this superlative thriller.

I would recommend it to all who love a mix of thrill and romance.

On the down side I would say that she has been let down a little by the average editing, given that it is from Harlequin, you kind of expect better proofreading quality.

Overall an excellent book! A wonderful world of love, adventure, excitement, betrayal and destiny awaits you. What are you waiting for? GO! BUY! READ!…

2 comments on “KINGDOM COME by AARTI V RAMAN

  1. Thanks so much for such a glowing review. It warms my heart when readers react to KC exactly the way I want them to. Xx Writer Gal

Leave a Reply

Sweta Paul Vs The World

This world terrifies me. And at times, I break out in emotion, sarcasm and lame humour.

writingthedreamblog

The Fantastic and Mundane Chronicles of an Aspiring Writer

Rob Powell Writes

Let's see where this goes, starting with some short stories and flash fiction.

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

ThinkingAloud

This is the site about life, people, highs, lows and all those blows.

LET ME RE-THINK

Diary of a VAGABOND

Surbhi Sarna

The Pursuit of Writing

My Petridish

Imagination is the fire of life...

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Deidra Alexander's Blog

I have people to kill, lives to ruin, plagues to bring, and worlds to destroy. I am not the Angel of Death. I'm a fiction writer.

The Critiquing Chemist

Literary Analysis derived from an Analytical Chemist

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Preethi Prabhu

An Indian Home Decor Blog

Aarti V Raman

Where Writer Gal talks about books, movies, hot men, TV shows, random poetry and why she cannot absolutely go on hikes longer than three kilometers.

Hard Book Habit

Reading classics and hard books, and spouting rhubarb about them

