Leave a comment

STEREOTYPES VERSUS N0N-STEREOTYPES

Photo Courtesy - trulymadly.com

Photo Courtesy – trulymadly.com

A photo album has gone viral about breaking stereotypes, which is quite unique in its own right. Some of them are downright brilliant, even I have shared the album on my facebook timeline together with a list which tells people how I am non-stereotypical.

Then again, once I shared the album a thought plummeted through my mind, what if, WHAT IF it was just okay to be stereotypical or non-stereotypical. What was the big deal? Why are we so obsessed about classifying ourselves? Isn’t being happy the most important thing of all? Why does a girl need to clarify herself or even classify herself as non-stereotypical if she loves to ride a motorcycle? She does it, because it makes her happy. Period.

And when I think clearly I see, I am not breaking too many stereotypes either, am a combination of it all. I have both stereotypical and non-stereotypical traits, while I am proud of some and not so proud of many, but they make me who I am, and mostly they make me happy. And that is all that matters…. Don’t you think?

I could be entirely wrong with this idea, or wonderfully correct, but it doesn’t matter, writing this lines made me happy and that’s all that counts.

If you are a man who loves pink, or a guy whose life stands still when an IPL match begins, or a girl who loves to fly planes or swoons at jewelry, by all means do all that and more if that makes you happy. Being stereotyped or breaking the stereotypical route should be least of your worries.

No one, absolutely no needs to clarify, give reasons, apologise or even give excuses for the choices they make in life or the things they like.

YOUR LIFE, YOUR CHOICE, YOUR HAPPINESS.

Leave a Reply

Sweta Paul Vs The World

This world terrifies me. And at times, I break out in emotion, sarcasm and lame humour.

writingthedreamblog

The Fantastic and Mundane Chronicles of an Aspiring Writer

Rob Powell Writes

Let's see where this goes, starting with some short stories and flash fiction.

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

ThinkingAloud

This is the site about life, people, highs, lows and all those blows.

LET ME RE-THINK

Diary of a VAGABOND

Surbhi Sarna

The Pursuit of Writing

My Petridish

Imagination is the fire of life...

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Deidra Alexander's Blog

I have people to kill, lives to ruin, plagues to bring, and worlds to destroy. I am not the Angel of Death. I'm a fiction writer.

The Critiquing Chemist

Literary Analysis derived from an Analytical Chemist

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Preethi Prabhu

Exploring the world of Indian Home Decor

Aarti V Raman

Where Writer Gal talks about books, movies, hot men, TV shows, random poetry and why she cannot absolutely go on hikes longer than three kilometers.

Hard Book Habit

Reading classics and hard books, and spouting rhubarb about them

