2 Comments

Busy people…. who can’t even spare 30 seconds.

As I was returning after dropping my daughter at her play group, I spotted a grandfather/granddaughter duo trying to cross the road. The grandfather had his right hand tightly clasped onto her tiny hand, with the other free hand he was waving frantically to the traffic to stop and let them cross. It was not a major road or junction thus they didn’t have any traffic lights, or traffic police or even a zebra crossing like many such roads across our country. So I decided to be a good samaritan, hoping to help them.

On an impulse, I stopped my car midway blocking the few cars that were behind me; The bikes still managed to get past, but it was enough for the grandfather to take his granddaughter safely across the road.

I was amazed at how people, who were caught behind my car, reacted. People started honking vigorously, some screamed abuses about how women should never drive cars and many such indecent things. Although, the smile and the wave from the grandfather/granddaughter duo made my day.

It had probably taken them 30 seconds to cross the road, and we were back again to normal, driving away to our own destinations. It seemed funny that to these people caught behind me in a traffic even a 30 second delay seemed like an end of the world to them, but they fail to notice that people around them may need help.

To sum up in a very clichéd manner I can only say:
Stopping mid traffic to let a grandfather and granddaughter cross;
Honks: Thousands
Abuses: A few
The smile on the face of the grandfather and granddaughter: Priceless…. 🙂

2 comments on “Busy people…. who can’t even spare 30 seconds.

  1. Loved this little reflective piece…speaks of the essential humanity which is gradually being wiped out from our earthly lives. Little steps like this ensure us that all is not lost in this frenzied, senseless world! Kudos 🙂

Leave a Reply

Sweta Paul Vs The World

This world terrifies me. And at times, I break out in emotion, sarcasm and lame humour.

writingthedreamblog

The Fantastic and Mundane Chronicles of an Aspiring Writer

Rob Powell Writes

Let's see where this goes, starting with some short stories and flash fiction.

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

ThinkingAloud

This is the site about life, people, highs, lows and all those blows.

LET ME RE-THINK

Diary of a VAGABOND

Surbhi Sarna

The Pursuit of Writing

My Petridish

Imagination is the fire of life...

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Deidra Alexander's Blog

I have people to kill, lives to ruin, plagues to bring, and worlds to destroy. I am not the Angel of Death. I'm a fiction writer.

The Critiquing Chemist

Literary Analysis derived from an Analytical Chemist

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Preethi Prabhu

Exploring the world of Indian Home Decor

Aarti V Raman

Where Writer Gal talks about books, movies, hot men, TV shows, random poetry and why she cannot absolutely go on hikes longer than three kilometers.

Hard Book Habit

Reading classics and hard books, and spouting rhubarb about them

